Strategy Books and videos by and about GEORGE LAKEY

Lakey (85) shares his learnings from six decades of strategic nonviolent organizing for peace and racial, social, and climate justice, through storytelling and discussion. He’s a columnist for WagingNonviolence.org and a founder of the Global Nonviolent Action Database at Swarthmore, Earth Quaker Action Team, Movement for a New Society and Training for Change.

Join George on his memoir tour, presenting
Dancing with History: A Life for Peace and Justice

See Doug Gwyn’s review in Friends Journal and the Zoom video of
Lakey’s talk
at the Philadelphia Free Library. Future tour dates TBA:

  • Feb 1, Wed, 6.30pm, Boulder Book Store, 1107 Pearl St, Boulder, CO
  • Feb 5, Sun, 1pm, “How a deepening climate crisis opens new doors to
    radical change,” Boulder Friends Meeting, 1825 Upland Ave, Boulder
  • Feb 7, Tues, 6.30, Eagle Harbor Bookstore, Bainbridge Island, WA
  • Feb 8, Wed, 10am-2.30pm (bag lunch) Ground Zero Center
    for Nonviolent Action, 16159 Clear Creek Rd, Poulsbo, WA
  • Feb 8, Wed, 6.30pm, Port Townsend Friends Meeting,
    1841 Sheridan, Port Townsend, WA
  • Feb 9, Thurs, 7pm, Elliot Bay Bookstore, 1521 10th Ave, Seattle
  • Feb 12, Sun, 4pm, Orca Books Co-op, 315 5th Ave SE, Olympia
  • Feb 13, Mon, 6pm, First Presbyterian Church, 1140 Cowper St, Palo Alto, CA
  • Feb 14, Tues, 6.30-8pm, Green Arcade Bookstore, 1680 Market St, San Francisco
  • Feb 19, Sun, 1pm, Santa Monica Friends Meeting, 1440 Harvard St
  • Feb 22, Wed, 6.30pm, Pennsylvania State University, Altoona
  • Feb 26, Sun, Noon, Lake Forest Friends Meeting, 101 W. Old Elm Rd, Lake Forest, IL
  • Feb 27, Mon, 6.30pm, Boswell Book Company, 2559 N Downer Ave, Milwaukee, WI
  • Feb 28, Tues, 6pm, 57th Street Books, 1301 E. 57th St, Chicago

Also George’s new bio-pic film trailer, and his other books including Viking Economics, Facilitating Group Learning, and How We Win, which he presents in his video below on why “polarization is the forge that heats systemic change” now, as it did in the 1930s and 1960s in the US and Scandinavia.

BELOW: The Chinese character for “Crisis” means danger and opportunity. Activists now must use today’s crises to win major systemic or structural change, as our ancestors did in the 1930s and 1960s in the U.S. and Scandinavia. No need to “reinvent the wheel” — change is made from “ideas lying around.”

Also see the latest on George’s new bio-pic film project, more MNS Books & Authors, and other best readings.